Student rates

Jones, Swain, Browne and Sharpe win county positions

Local Democrats in Monroe County easily won their races Tuesday night, including politicians who have held their seats for many years.

County Commissioner District 1:

Democrat Elizabeth (Lee) Jones won re-election as Monroe County Commissioner, defeating Republican opponent Perry Robinson with 58% of the vote.

Jones is no stranger to public service, having served on the Monroe County Council for six years before becoming commissioner, the planning commission for 10 years and the zoning appeals commission for four years.

Jones and her husband also own Stranger’s Hill Farm and Greenhouses, which is Indiana’s oldest certified organic business.

Lee told the Herald Times that the most important issue facing the county is criminal justice reform, including reducing high incarceration rates and addressing issues involving the county jail.

county recorder

Democrat Amy Swain was elected Recorder of Monroe County, beating Republican opponent Paul White with 61% of the vote.

The Monroe County Recorder is responsible for county paperwork, including deeds, mortgages and military discharges, among others, according to Swain’s website. The County Recorder is also responsible for recording and maintaining all submitted instruments and making all documents available to the public.

As Monroe County Recorder, Swain said his priorities include accessibility, professionalism and a smooth transition.

Swain is a graduate of IU’s Kelley School of Business. She was twice elected to Indian Creek Township Council and served for eight years before being appointed Indian Creek Township Clerk. She also served as archivist for the Bloomington City Archives, according to her website.

Circuit Court Clerk

Current Monroe County Circuit Court Clerk Nicole Browne was re-elected. Democrat, she ran unopposed.

Browne told IDS in a statement that she wants the Monroe County election to be a “gold standard” for quality elections in Indiana. She is also currently Secretary of the County Electoral Council.

County Assessor

Judith Sharp, Democrat, was re-elected as Monroe County’s assessor. Sharpe was unopposed and has held the position since 1991.

The Monroe County Assessor is responsible for assigning a market value to all properties for tax purposes and does so annually based on properties sold. Sharp said the department has about 58,000 parcels of land it touches each year.

The Monroe County Assessor has no term limit, which means there is no limit to how long Sharp can hold the position.